

# APPENDIX

First Class Pre-K Guidelines

# APPENDIX TABLE OF CONTENTS

First Class Pre-K Timeline Permission to Purchase First Class Pre-K Lead and Alabama's Mandatory Child Abuse and Neglect Law Auxiliary Teacher Base Salary Background Check Verification Form Children with Special Needs Health Screenings Permission and Review Form Required Equipment, Materials, and Supplies Child Health Screening Record Playground Safety Recommendations ADECE Incident Report Form Help Me Grow Universal Resource Form Request for Modified Schedule Pre-Registration Responsibility and Timeline Parent/Guardian Contract Transition to Kindergarten Toolkit Parent/Family Engagement Sign-In **Attendance Works** Parent/Guardian Orientation First Teacher Home Visiting Parent/Family Engagement Log **Works Cited** Code of Alabama for the Office of School Readiness

STATUS	TASK	APPENDIX	SUBMISSION DEADLINE	SUBMISSION FORMAT
	Initial Budget		September 30th	ECEData
	Accreditation Documentation		September 30th	Copy to Monitor
	Official Transcripts (All New Teachers)		Within 30 days of hire date  Electronically Submit: officialtranscript@ece. alabama.gov	Complete the online Teacher Credential Verification form. *See Laserfiche link at the end of the Appendices  Upload an unofficial transcript Mail official copy to: Alabama Dept. Early Childhood Education Attn: Teacher Transcripts P.O. Box 302755 Montgomery, AL 36130-2755
	Student Change Report (For new students or change in information for existing students)	Online	As Needed	Laserfiche
	Teacher Salary Schedules	В		
	Background Check Verification Form	С	Within 10 days of starting school *or within 10 days of employment date for any new staff hired during the school year	Mail official notarized copy to: Alabama Dept. of Early Childhood Education Office of School Readiness Attention: Background Verification Form P.O. Box 302755 Montgomery, AL 36130-2755
	Health Screening Permission & Review	D	Permission by the 20th day of school; parent review by Dec. 15th	On-Site
	Child Health Screening Record	E	October 31st	On-Site
	Incident Report Form	F	As Needed (but due to Region Director within 24 hours of incident)	Laserfiche
	Modified Schedule Request Form	G	As Needed	Laserfiche

Parent/Family Contract	Н	Within 20 days of start of school	Onsite			
Parent/Family Engagement Sign-In	I	Ongoing	Onsite			
Yearly plan of Family Engagement Activities			Onsite			
Individual Parent/Family Engagement Log	K	Ongoing	Onsite ECEData			
Amended Budget		January 31st				
Permission to Purchase	M	Ongoing	Laserfiche			
Director, Teacher, Parent End of Year Surveys		Complete within two weeks of receiving	Electronic - participant will receive a link to the survey via email			
Final budget		April/May Refer to Monitor Checklist	ECEData			
Help Me Grow Universal Resource Form	R	As Needed	Electronic - to care coordinator for your area via email or fax			

# **Appendix B: First Class Pre-K Lead & Auxiliary Teacher Base Salary**

The salary schedule for lead and auxiliary teachers, otherwise known as the salary matrix, can be found on the Alabama State Department of Education website, www.alabamaachieves.org.

Refer to Section 2.1 for information about required credentials for lead and auxiliary teachers.

### **Appendix C: Background Check Verification Form**

\*Due within 10 days of the start of the school year for all First Class Pre-K Classrooms. See the timeline for submission requirements.

The safety and security of students in all First Class Pre-K funded sites is very important to the Department of Early Childhood Education. First Class Pre-K program personnel, including substitute teachers and any other person having regular contact with the classroom children, must have a satisfactory criminal background check, Child Abuse and Neglect (CAN) background check and fingerprinting on file with their employer. Volunteer parents may not be left in the classroom unsupervised by classroom personnel. If an OSR grantee personnel are arrested or convicted of criminal behavior during employment in the First Class Pre-K classroom, the program must promptly inform OSR.

Classroom Name:	
Program Name:	
ADECE requires that no unchecked adults be left alone with background check can be completed and verified by the ADE	n students (unless it's their own child) until a recently passed CE.
I,	
(Program Director's name), verify all employees or voluntee Pre-K program students have recently and satisfactorily pas Appendix C form with the program director's signature and	ssed a background check. Please send a completed <b>notarized</b>
Alabama Department of Early Childhood Education Office of School Readiness Attention: Official Background Check P.O. Box 302755 Montgomery, AL 36130-2755	
Program Director's Signature	Date
State of Alabama County of	
The foregoing instrument was acknowledged before me this _	day of
	, 20
Notary's Official Signature (Seal)	Commission Expiration Date

# **Appendix D: Health Screenings Permission and Review Form**

The Alabama First Class Pre-K program is committed to making sure that pre-k children are healthy. To do this, our classrooms offer onsite health screenings at no cost. Please check the screenings you agree to allow medical personnel (such as nurses) and/or trained professionals to administer to your child. You may also choose to opt out of some or all of the screenings if you do not wish for your child to participate.

I agree that my child may participate in the follow	ving screenings:
Vision	
Dental	
Hearing	
Physical	
All of the above	
My child has been screened within the last you is attached.	ear for one or more of the above screenings and a copy of the screening(s)
I do <b>not</b> want my child to participate in any l	health screenings offered through the Alabama First Class Pre-K program.
Student Name	
Parent/Guardian Signature	Date
Teacher Signature	Date
	ED AFTER PARENT/GUARDIAN HAS ED SCREENING RESULTS
I have been given the opportunity to review the my child received.	results of the health screenings
PARENT/GUARDIAN SHOULD NOT SIGN BEI	LOW UNTIL RESULTS HAVE BEEN REVIEWED!
Parent/Guardian Signature	Date

### **Appendix E: Child Health Screening Record**

To be completed by a nurse or trained professional – not the First Class Pre-K Teacher or Program Director Class Name: \_\_\_\_\_ County: \_\_\_\_\_ \_\_\_\_\_\_ Date of Birth: \_\_\_\_\_/\_\_\_\_\_ Student Name: \_\_\_\_ First Middle Last **VISION** DATE \_\_\_\_\_ Check one for each eve: Left: ☐ Pass ☐ Fail Right: 🖵 Pass □ Fail Comments: \_\_\_\_ Child missed screening due to: ☐ Parent permission denied ☐ Child non-cooperative ☐ Enrollment after screening Signature of Screener: **HEARING** DATE Check one for each ear: Left: ☐ Pass ☐ Fail Right: ☐ Pass ☐ Fail Comments: Child missed screening due to: ☐ Absence ☐ Parent permission denied ☐ Child non-cooperative ☐ Enrollment after screening Signature of Screener: \_\_\_\_ DENTAL Results: Should see a dentist Normal exam/no concerns Comments: ☐ Parent permission denied ☐ Child non-cooperative ☐ Enrollment after screening Signature of Screener: **PHYSICAL** DATE \_\_\_\_\_\_ Body Mass Index (BMI):\_\_\_\_\_ Blood Pressure:\_\_\_\_\_ Concerns/Recommendations: Child missed screening due to: ☐ Absence ☐ Parent permission denied ☐ Child non-cooperative ☐ Enrollment after screening Signature of Screener:

### **Appendix F: ADECE Incident Report Form**

Complete and submit the electronic version of the form shown below at laserfiche.alabama.gov/Forms/ADECE-IRF to report serious accidents, injuries, medical situations, or behavior incidents. Incidents involving a crime or traffic incident should be reported directly to the police. If possible, the report should be submitted within 24 hours of the incident. For extreme incidents, contact your Region Director immediately.

INFORMATION ABOUT ADI	JLT PERSON INVOLVED IN	THE INCIDENT	
Full Name:			
Classroom Name:			
☐ Program Employee Name:	☐ Partner Organization Employee Name:	☐ Visitor/Volunteer  Name:	Vendor Name:
INFORMATION ABOUT THE	INCIDENT		
Date of Incident:	Time:	Parent Notified Police Notified?	
Location of Incident:	,		
Description of Incident (what (attach additional sheets if ne	ecessary)	, ra rs leac g to the ren	it, etc 3e as specific as possible
Were there any witnesses to If yes, attach separate sheat Was there media coverage If yes, identify the media of the second seco	with names, ado. re: and the incident: $\square$		
Was the individuatinjured? Informat in known about the		ration, sprain, etc.), the part	of the body injured, and any other
Was medical to aument provi			Room □ Othor
REPORTER INFORMATION		gent Care 🖵 Emergency F	Com d Other
Individual Submitting Report			
Signature:	(print riamo).		
Date Report Submitted:			
Report received by:	(Region Director Si	gnature)	Date

<sup>\*</sup>Region Director should forward a signed copy to the OSR Director.

Document any follow-up action taken after receipt of the incident report.

DATE	ACTION TAKEN	BY WHOM

### **Appendix G: Request for Modified Schedule**

Complete and submit the electronic version of the form shown below atlaserfiche.alabama.gov/Forms/ADECE-RMS. Please note that if a child has a current IEP (Individualized Education Program), please disregard this form and consult with the IEP team for any modification(s) to the child's schedule.

Name of Class:	County:
Coach:	Monitor:
Lead Teacher:	Email:
Site Director Submitting Request:	
Contact Number:	Date Submitted:
Do you have any other modified schedule?	
Child's Name:	Diagnosis (if a licable):
Is anyone from the local school system coming into your class	m to a st this d? 🗆 🐱 🗅 No
If yes, how often?	
Has the child been referred for testing $\mathbf{w}$ $\mathbf{h}$ vults? $\mathbf{\Box}$ .	□ No
Is the child ineligible for se. S? 🖵 Yes 🖵 No	
If the child wes have an EP. he par sagreed to a	referral for special education testing?   Yes   No
Do you ha ``'s support for this modified schedule?	□ Yes □ No
Modified Schedule Request ☐ Approved ☐ Denied Dat	e:
Region Director verified child's schedule:	
Comments:	
Date modified schedule lifted:	

Please describe examples of how this child requires more time from both teachers than other children in the classroom. Be as detailed as possible. We rely on this information to support our decision:

- 1. Specific reason(s) a modified schedule is being requested.
- 2. Interventions already implemented to help the child benefit from the program.
- 3. Information including all documentation of written correspondence and meeting notes detailing ongoing involvement with parents/family, including the discussion regarding a special education referral.
- 4. Behavioral documentation and instructional observations of the child to support the modified schedule request.
- 5. Any additional documentation parents/family voluntarily provides, such as documentation of consultation with any other outside resources (i.e., child's pediatrician, counseling services, or local school system).
- 6. A written schedule including the length of the child's proposed day, proposed daily schedule including times and the activities during this time period, and the justification for the proposed schedule.
- 7. A written plan describing how the child's attendance will be increased over time to the typical 6.5 hour day.

# **Appendix H: Parent/Guardian Contract**

Name of Class:	County:
Lead Teacher:	
selection to the program is a privilege tha	eatest possible benefits from this preschool experience. As space is limited, at requires parental responsibilities. Each parent is asked to carefully consider the in the program. Your signature will acknowledge that you understand and agree
<ul> <li>Complete a minimum of 12 hours of Have my child at school by</li></ul>	requested to discuss my child's progress of parent involvement a.m. (children are not admitted into the building before a.m.) children must be picked up no later than p.m.) to to my child's teacher for every absence mentation to my child's teacher by given deadlines, such as the ASQ-3 tener is entered into the Enterprise Data Base System and may provide your tes/support to benefit your child/family. Your child's teacher will provide the ASQ-3). The conduct and progress teachers and other site personnel test and follow the academic performance of my child temographic information for ADECE reports and publications (no identifiable
	ary and that as the parent/guardian it is my responsibility to adhere to this Parent o resolve any issues that may arise during the school year.

# **Appendix I: Parent/Family Engagement Sign-In**

Date:	
Number in Attendance:	
Parent/Guardian Signature	Relation to Child
	Parent/Guardian Signature  Parent/Guardian Signature

### **Appendix J: Parent/Guardian Orientation**

Topics to cover during parent/family orientation:

- 1. Explanation of First Class Pre-K
- 2. Local program policies, procedures, and attendance expectations (these should be provided in writing)
- 3. How to complete the required paperwork, including the Ages and Stages (ASQ-3) Developmental Screener
- 4. What a developmentally appropriate classroom for a 4-year-olds looks like
- 5. Help Me Grow information.
- 6. What parents should expect from the program.

  For example: what a typical day in pre-k looks like and that children will be participating in hands-on learning experiences rather than sitting and doing worksheets
- 7. What program staff will expect from the parents (see Appendix H Parent/Family Contract)
- 8. Information about parent/family engagement opportunities
- 9. Upcoming events and deadlines
- 10. Field trips during the year
- 11. Photo/video policy for students

This is determined at the local level, but programs are required to have a photo/video policy in place prior to the beginning of the school year. Copies of the policy containing parent signatures indicating agreement/disagreement with the policy must be kept on site and parents/guardians must be given a copy of the policy as well

# **Appendix K: Parent/Family Engagement Log**

Teachers should complete a log at the end of the first semester and again at the end of the second semester by listing and totaling the number of hours for each child for each Family Engagement Opportunity held. Please give the completed form to your Monitor at the end of each semester. Remember to offer parent/family hours in 1-hour increments.

IstoT																								
	Date																							
	Date																							
	Date																							
	Date																							
	Date																							
	Date																							
	Date																							
	Date																							
ASQ-3 Screener	Date	1 Hour																						
Family Orientation	Date	2 Hours																						
Year:	Parent's Name	Example: John and Betty Doe																						
Class:_	Child Name	Example: Jane Doe	1.	2.	3.	4.	5.	6.	7.	8.	9.	10.	11.	12.	13.	14.	15.	16.	17.	18.	19.	20.	Monitor Initial	Date

### Appendix L: Code of Alabama for the Office of School Readiness

Alabama Office of School Readiness, Code of Alabama Section 26-24-23,24,25

#### **DUTIES OF OFFICE**

The Office of School Readiness shall do all of the following:

- 1. Establish criteria and administer such programs and services as may be necessary for the operation and management of a voluntary prekindergarten program.
- 2. Administer such programs and services as may be necessary for the operation and management of preschool and certain child development programs coordinating with the Department of Education for the inclusion of preschool special education.
- 3. Ensure that the prekindergarten program provides a developmentally appropriate preschool program emphasizing growth in language and literacy, math concepts, science, arts, physical development, and personal and social competence.
- 4. Receive and disperse any funds appropriated to the office from the Legislature for the establishment, operation, and administration of the prekindergarten program. The budget of the office shall be part of the Department of Early Childhood Education.
- 5. Assist local units of administration in this state so as to assure the proliferation of services under this article.
- 6. Coordinate with the regulatory division for the licensing of child care centers and with the administration of the United States child and adult care food programs at the child care centers participating in the prekindergarten program.
- 7. Issue annual reports to the Governor, secretary, and Legislature concerning the administration and operation of the prekindergarten program.
- 8. Provide leadership for enhancement of school readiness in this state by aggressively establishing a unified approach to the state's efforts toward enhancement of school readiness. In support of this effort, the office may develop and implement specific strategies that address the state's school readiness programs.
- 9. Safeguard the effective use of federal, state, local, and private resources to achieve the highest possible level of school readiness for the state's children.
- 10. Provide technical assistance to local programs.
- 11. Assess gaps in services.
- 12. By January 2001, adopt a system for measuring school readiness that provides objective data regarding the expectations for school readiness and establish a method for collecting the data and guidelines for using the data. The measurement, the data collection, and the use of the data must serve the statewide school readiness goals. The criteria for determining which data to collect should be the usefulness of the data to state policymakers and local programs' administrators in administering programs and allocating state funds and must include the tracking of school readiness system information back to individual school readiness programs to assist in determining program effectiveness.

(Act 2000-613, p. 1230, §5; Act 2015-160, §1.)

#### **ENTITIES THAT MAY PARTICIPATE**

The following entities may voluntarily, but shall not be required to, participate in the programs and services administered by the Office of School Readiness:

- 1. Public schools.
- 2. Private schools.
- 3. Churches.
- 4. Existing public prekindergarten programs.
- 5. Existing private prekindergarten programs.
- 6. Existing nonprofit prekindergarten programs.
- 7. Any other entities or programs approved by the office.

(Act 2000-613, p. 1230, §6.)

#### **COLLABORATION ON PROGRAMS**

As additional funds become available, all programs within each county participating in school readiness shall collaborate on early education and child care programs that are funded with state and/or federal funding including, but not limited to, adult and community education programs, Even-Start literacy programs, prekindergarten early intervention programs, Head Start programs, programs offered by public and private providers of child care, migrant prekindergarten programs, Title 1 programs, subsidized child care programs, and teen parenting programs, together with any additional funds appropriated or obtained for this section. These programs shall be components of the integrated school readiness program.

(Act 2000-613, p. 1230, §7.)

### **Appendix M: Permission to Purchase**

Individual non-consumable items over \$300 must be pre-approved by the assigned Monitor or Region Director *prior to purchasing items*.

All purchases made with OSR funds must be verified by your Monitor with appropriate documents, including itemized receipts or itemized paid invoices, on a regular basis. Failure to provide appropriate documentation within 90 days from the date of approved purchase(s) will result in ineligibility for purchase(s) to be paid with OSR funds.

Complete and submit the electronic version of the form shown below at laserfiche.alabama.gov/Forms to request permission to purchase items over \$300.

Name of Class:	County:
Lead Teacher:	
Email:	
First Class Pre-K Monitor:	
Equipment/Materials/Supplies	Company Quar ty tal onitor's Initials and
	Date Received
Pre-K Program Director:	Date:
Pre-Approved By:	on Director Signature

### Appendix N: Alabama's Mandatory Child Abuse and Neglect Law

Code of Alabama Section 26-14, Reporting of Child Abuse or Neglect

For the purposes of this chapter, the following terms shall have the meanings respectively ascribed to them by this section:

- (1) ABUSE. Harm or threatened harm to a child's health or welfare. Harm or threatened harm to a child's health or welfare can occur through nonaccidental physical or mental injury, sexual abuse or attempted sexual abuse, or sexual exploitation or attempted sexual exploitation. Sexual abuse includes the employment, use, persuasion, inducement, enticement, or coercion of any child to engage in, or having a child assist any other person to engage in, any sexually explicit conduct or any simulation of the conduct for the purpose of producing any visual depiction of the conduct; or the rape, molestation, prostitution, or other form of sexual exploitation of children, or incest with children as those acts are defined by Alabama law. Sexual exploitation includes allowing, permitting, or encouraging a child to engage in prostitution and allowing, permitting, encouraging, or engaging in the obscene or pornographic photographing, filming, or depicting of a child for commercial purposes.
- (2) NEGLECT. Negligent treatment or maltreatment of a child, including the failure to provide adequate food, medical treatment, supervision, clothing, or shelter.
- (3) CHILD. Either of the following:
- a. A person under the age of 18 years.
- b. A person under the age of 19 years who is in need of protective services and does not qualify for adult protective services under Chapter 9 of Title 38.
- (4) DULY CONSTITUTED AUTHORITY. The chief of police of a municipality or municipality and county; or the sheriff, if the observation of child abuse or neglect is made in an unincorporated territory; or the Department of Human Resources; or any person, organization, corporation, group, or agency authorized and designated by the Department of Human Resources to receive reports of child abuse and neglect; provided, that a duly constituted authority shall not include an agency involved in the acts or omissions of the reported child abuse or neglect.

#### **SECTION 26-14-2 - PURPOSE OF CHAPTER**

In order to protect children whose health and welfare may be adversely affected through abuse and neglect, the Legislature hereby provides for the reporting of such cases to the appropriate authorities. It is the intent of the Legislature that, as a result of such efforts, and through the cooperation of state, county, local agencies and divisions of government, protective services shall be made available in an effort to prevent further abuses and neglect, to safeguard and enforce the general welfare of such children, and to encourage cooperation among the states in dealing with the problems of child abuse.

#### **SECTION 26-14-3 - MANDATORY REPORTING**

(a) All hospitals, clinics, sanitariums, doctors, physicians, surgeons, medical examiners, coroners, dentists, osteopaths, optometrists, chiropractors, podiatrists, physical therapists, nurses, public and private K-12 employees, school teachers and officials, peace officers, law enforcement officials, pharmacists, social workers, day care workers or employees, mental health professionals, employees of public and private institutions of postsecondary and higher education, members of the clergy as defined in Rule 505 of the Alabama Rules of Evidence, or any other person called upon to render aid or medical assistance to any child, when the child is known or suspected to be a victim of child abuse or neglect, shall be required to report orally, either by telephone or direct communication immediately, and shall be followed by a written report, to a duly constituted authority.

(b)

- (1) When an initial report is made to a law enforcement official, the official subsequently shall inform the Department of Human Resources of the report so that the department can carry out its responsibility to provide protective services when deemed appropriate to the respective child or children.
- (2) As soon as is practicable after a report of known or suspected child abuse or neglect is made, the Department of Human Resources shall make efforts to determine the military status of the parent or guardian of the child who is the subject of the child abuse or neglect allegation.
- (3) If the Department of Human Resources determines that a parent or guardian under subdivision (2) is in the military, the

department shall notify a United States Department of Defense family advocacy program at the military installation of the parent or guardian that there is an allegation of child abuse or neglect that is being investigated that involves a child of the military parent or guardian.

- (c) When the Department of Human Resources receives initial reports of suspected abuse or neglect, as defined in Section 26-14-1, including suspected abuse or neglect involving discipline or corporal punishment committed in a public or private school or suspected abuse or neglect in a state-operated child residential facility, the Department of Human Resources shall transmit a copy of school reports to the law enforcement agency and residential facility reports to the law enforcement agency and the operating state agency which shall conduct the investigation. When the investigation is completed, a written report of the completed investigation shall contain the information required by the state Department of Human Resources which shall be submitted by the law enforcement agency or the state agency to the county department of human resources for entry into the state's central registry.
- (d) Nothing in this chapter shall preclude interagency agreements between departments of human resources, law enforcement, and any other state agencies on procedures for investigating reports of suspected child abuse and neglect to provide for departments of human resources to assist law enforcement and other state agencies in these investigations.
- (e) Any provision of this section to the contrary notwithstanding, if any agency or authority investigates any report pursuant to this section and the report does not result in a conviction, the agency or authority shall expunge any record of the information or report and any data developed from the record.
- (f) Subsection (a) to the contrary notwithstanding, a member of the clergy shall not be required to report information gained solely in a confidential communication privileged pursuant to Rule 505 of the Alabama Rules of Evidence which communication shall continue to be privileged as provided by law.
- (g) Commencing on August 1, 2013, a public or private employer who discharges, suspends, disciplines, or penalizes an employee solely for reporting suspected child abuse or neglect pursuant to this section shall be guilty of a Class C misdemeanor.

#### **SECTION 26-14-4 - PERMISSIVE REPORTING**

In addition to those persons, firms, corporations, and officials required by Section 26-14-3 to report child abuse and neglect, any person may make such a report if such person has reasonable cause to suspect that a child is being abused or neglected.

#### **SECTION 26-14-5 - CONTENTS OF REPORTS**

The reports provided for in this chapter shall state, if known, the name of the child, his or her whereabouts, the names and addresses of the parents, guardian, or caretaker, and the character and extent of his or her injuries. The written report shall also contain, if known, any evidence of previous injuries to the child and any other pertinent information which might establish the cause of such injury or injuries, and the identity of the person or persons responsible for the same.

#### SECTION 26-14-6 - TEMPORARY PROTECTIVE CUSTODY

A police officer, a law enforcement official, or a designated employee of the State or County Department of Human Resources may take a child into protective custody, or any person in charge of a hospital or similar institution or any physician treating a child may keep that child in his or her custody, without the consent of the parent or guardian, whether or not additional medical treatment is required, if the circumstances or conditions of the child are such that continuing in his or her place of residence or in the care and custody of the parent, guardian, custodian, or other person responsible for the child's care presents an imminent danger to that child's life or health. However, such official shall immediately notify the court having jurisdiction over juveniles of such actions in taking the child into protective custody; provided, that such custody shall not exceed 72 hours and that a court of competent jurisdiction and the Department of Human Resources shall be notified immediately in order that child-protective proceedings may be initiated. During such period of temporary custody, the director of the county department of human resources may give or cause to be given effective consent for medical, dental, health, and hospital services for any abused or neglected child.

#### SECTION 26-14-6.1 - DUTIES AND RESPONSIBILITIES FOR INVESTIGATION OF REPORTS

The duty and responsibility for the investigation of reports of suspected child abuse or neglect shall be as follows:

(1) Reports of suspected child abuse or neglect involving disciplinary or corporal punishment committed in a public or

private school or kindergarten shall be investigated by law enforcement agencies.

- (2) Reports of suspected child abuse or neglect committed in a state-operated child residential facility shall be investigated by law enforcement agencies.
- (3) All other reports of suspected child abuse and neglect shall be investigated by the Department of Human Resources.

#### SECTION 26-14-7 - DUTIES OF DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN RESOURCES

- (a) The State or County Department of Human Resources shall make a thorough investigation promptly upon either the oral or written report. The primary purpose of such an investigation shall be the protection of the child.
- (b) The investigation, to the extent that is reasonably possible, shall include:
- (1) The nature, extent and cause of the child abuse or neglect;
- (2) The identity of the person responsible therefor;
- (3) The names and conditions of other children in the home;
- (4) An evaluation of the parents or person responsible for the care of the child;
- (5) The home environment and the relationship of the child or children to the parents or other persons responsible for their care; and
- (6) All other data deemed pertinent.
- (c) The investigation may include a visit to the child's home, an interview with the subject child, and may include a physical, psychological, or psychiatric examination of any child or children in that home. If the admission to the home, school, or any other place that the child may be, or permission of the parent or other persons responsible for the child or children, for the physical, psychological, or psychiatric examination, cannot be obtained, then a court of competent jurisdiction, upon cause shown, shall order the parents or persons responsible and in charge of any place where the child may be to allow the interview, examinations, and investigation. If, before the examination is complete, the opinion of the investigators is that immediate removal is necessary to protect a child or children from further abuse or neglect, a court of competent jurisdiction, on petition by the investigators and with good cause being shown, shall issue an order for temporary removal and custody. (d) The county department of human resources shall make a complete written report of the investigation, together with its recommendations. Such reports may be made available to the appropriate court, the district attorney, and the appropriate law enforcement agency upon request. The county department of human resources shall make a written report or case summary, together with services offered and accepted to the state's central registry on forms supplied by the registry for that purpose.

# SECTION 26-14-7.1 - DUE PROCESS RIGHTS FOR PERSONS UNDER INVESTIGATION BY DEPARTMENT

Any person who comes under investigation by the Department of Human Resources for the abuse or neglect of a child or children and who is employed by, serves as a volunteer for, holds a license or certificate for, or is connected with any facility, agency, or home which cares for and controls any children and which is licensed, approved, or certified by the state, operated as a state facility, or any public, private, or religious facility or agency that may be exempt from licensing procedures shall be granted the following due process rights by the Department of Human Resources:

- (1) The department shall notify the alleged perpetrator that an investigation has commenced against him or her after such investigation has officially begun in accordance with written policies established by the Department of Human Resources. The notice shall be in writing and shall state the name of the child or children allegedly abused, the date or dates that the alleged abuse is thought to have occurred, and the substance of the person's actions which are alleged to be abusive. The department shall establish and maintain written policies outlining the specifics of such notification and other policies deemed necessary and prudent by the department to inform the alleged perpetrator of his rights and the procedures utilized by the department involving child abuse and neglect investigations.
- (2) If the department conducts an investigation relating to child abuse/neglect, the alleged perpetrator shall be notified of the investigator's conclusions.
- (3) If the department's investigators conclude that child abuse/neglect is indicated, an investigative hearing may be held to confirm or reject the investigators' conclusions.
- (4) The alleged perpetrator shall be given ten departmental working days from the receipt of the notification of the investigator's conclusions to request a hearing, and such request must be in writing. If no such request is received in the

- department's office within ten departmental working days, the alleged perpetrator's opportunity for a hearing shall be considered waived by the department.
- (5) The employer of an alleged perpetrator shall not be notified of the investigator's conclusions prior to a hearing or its waiver unless, in the opinion of the department's investigators, a child is in danger of abuse or neglect; in such case, any person in a position to discover, prevent, or protect the child from his abuse or neglect may be informed of information gathered in the investigation prior to a requested investigative hearing for the alleged perpetrator.
- (6) The alleged perpetrator shall be notified of the date, time, and place of any investigative hearing. Such hearing shall not be open to the public.
- (7) The alleged perpetrator shall have the following rights at any departmental investigative hearing:
- a. The right to present his case himself or be represented by legal counsel or any other person.
- b. The right to present written evidence, oral testimony, and witnesses.
- c. The right to be provided by the department a short and plain written statement of the matters asserted which will be presented at the hearing.
- d. The right to review and copy at cost any written or recorded statement made by the alleged perpetrator to departmental personnel in the course of the child abuse/neglect investigation. This request must be made prior to the date for the hearing.
- e. The right to review and copy at cost, before or during the hearing, the written material and other evidence in possession of the department which will be placed into evidence at the hearing.
- f. The right to inspect any exculpatory evidence which may be in the possession of departmental investigators, and the right to be informed of such evidence if known by departmental investigators before the hearing; provided, that a request for such evidence is made at least five working days prior to the date set for the hearing.
- g. The right to review and copy at cost all non-confidential department documents pertinent to the case, including written policies and rights.
- h. The right to cross-examine witnesses testifying at the hearing.
- i. The right to request issuance of subpoenas to witnesses and compel attendance. This request must be received no later than ten calendar days prior to the hearing, unless a shorter time is agreed upon by the hearing officer.
- j. The right to review and copy at cost all documents in the official hearing file maintained by the hearing officer.
- k. The right to have a hearing officer appointed who shall be disinterested, fair, and impartial.
- (8) The Department of Human Resources or its investigative hearing officers shall have the power and authority to issue subpoenas to compel attendance by and production of documents from any witness. Subpoenas may be served in the same manner as subpoenas issued out of any circuit court. Where any witness has been summoned by the Department of Human Resources, its commissioner or any of his or her agents, and the witness refuses to appear, testify, or produce records or documents as requested; then any circuit court in this state, or any judge thereof, on application, may issue an attachment for such person and compel him or her to comply with such order and the court or judge shall have power to punish for contempt in cases of disobedience of such order.
- (9) The Department of Human Resources shall establish policies and written guidelines for the conduct and procedures involved in an investigative hearing. At such hearing, the fact that there was a finding by a juvenile court judge or by a criminal court that child abuse or neglect has occurred shall be presumptive evidence that the report should be marked indicated.
- (10) The hearing officer shall notify the alleged perpetrator in writing of the hearing officer's decision.
- (11) Results of investigative hearings:
- a. If the hearing officer concludes that child abuse and/or neglect is "indicated," such findings and evidence shall be filed with the appropriate district attorney and other law enforcement officials which the department may deem necessary.
- b. The alleged perpetrator's employer or licensing/certifying agency or group may also be notified of the "indicated" findings. Such notification shall be marked "Confidential" and "To Be Used Only For The Purpose Of Discovery Or Preventing Child Abuse." The department shall establish written policies for notification of employers, prospective employers and licensing/certifying agencies or groups.

# SECTION 26-14-7.2 - CHILD DENIED MEDICAL TREATMENT DUE TO PARENTS' RELIGIOUS BELIEFS

(a) When an investigation of child abuse or neglect by the Department of Human Resources determines that a parent or legal guardian legitimately practicing his or her religious beliefs has not provided specific medical treatment for a child, the

parent or legal guardian shall not be considered a negligent parent or guardian for that reason alone. This exception shall not preclude a court from ordering that medical services be provided to the child when the child's health requires it.

(b) The department may, in any case, pursue any legal remedies, including the initiation of legal proceedings in a court of competent jurisdiction, as may be necessary to provide medical care or treatment for a child when the care or treatment is necessary to prevent or remedy serious harm to the child, or to prevent the withholding of medically indicated treatments from infants with disabilities and with life-threatening conditions. Upon application by the department, the court may issue prelitigation or pretrial discovery orders for persons, medical records, and other documents or materials.

#### **SECTION 26-14-8 - STATEWIDE CENTRAL REGISTRY**

- (a) For the purposes of this section, the following words shall have the following meanings, respectively:
- (1) INDICATED. When credible evidence and professional judgment substantiates that an alleged perpetrator is responsible for child abuse or neglect.
- (2) NOT INDICATED. When credible evidence and professional judgment does not substantiate that an alleged perpetrator is responsible for child abuse or neglect.
- (b) The Department of Human Resources shall establish a statewide central registry for reports of child abuse and neglect made pursuant to this chapter. The central registry shall contain, but shall not be limited to:
- (1) All information in the written report;
- (2) Record of the final disposition of the report, including services offered and services accepted;
- (3) The names and identifying data, dates, and circumstances of any persons requesting or receiving information from the registry; provided, however, that requests for information and responses where no report exists may be destroyed after three years from the date of the request;
- (4) The plan for rehabilitative treatment; and
- (5) Any other information which might be helpful in furthering the purposes of this chapter.
- (c) The Department of Human Resources shall establish and enforce reasonable rules and regulations governing the custody, use, and preservation of the reports and records of child abuse and neglect. Child abuse and neglect reports and records shall be limited to the purposes for which they are furnished and by the provisions of law under which they may be furnished. The reports and records of child abuse and neglect and related information or testimony shall be confidential, and shall not be used or disclosed for any purposes other than:
- (1) To permit their use to prevent or to discover abuse or neglect of children through the information contained therein, except reports or records in cases determined to be "not indicated" shall not be used or disclosed for purposes of employment or other background checks; or
- (2) For investigation of child abuse or neglect by the police or other law enforcement agency; or
- (3) For use by a grand jury upon its determination that access to such reports and records is necessary in the conduct of its official business; or
- (4) For use by a court where it finds that such information is necessary for the determination of an issue before the court; or
- (5) For use by any person engaged in bona fide research who is authorized to have access to such information by the Commissioner of the Department of Human Resources; or
- (6) For use by any person authorized by a court to act as a representative for an abused or neglected child who is the subject of a report; or
- (7) For use by a physician who has before him a child whom he reasonably suspects may be abused or neglected; or
- (8) For use by an attorney or guardian ad litem in representing or defending a child or its parents or guardians in a court proceeding related to abuse or neglect of the child; or
- (9) For use by federal, state, or local governmental entities, social service agencies of another state, or any agent of such entities, having a need for the information in order to carry out their responsibilities under law to protect children from abuse and neglect; or
- (10) For use by child abuse citizen review or quality assurance or multidisciplinary review panels; or
- (11) For use by child fatality review panels; or
- (12) For public disclosure of the findings or information about the case of child abuse or neglect which has resulted in a child fatality or near fatality; the term "near fatality" means an act that, as certified by a physician, places the child in serious or critical condition. Information identifying by name persons other than the victim shall not be disclosed.
- (d) The names of persons or information in the investigative report placed on the state's central registry which may be made

available to the alleged perpetrator's employer, prospective employer, or others are those cases that the Department of Human Resources or the investigative hearing officer has determined child abuse or neglect to be indicated.

- (e) In the case of any child abuse or neglect investigation which is determined to be "not indicated," the alleged perpetrator may request after five years from the completion of the investigation that his or her name be expunged from the central registry so long as the Department of Human Resources has received no further reports concerning the alleged perpetrator during the five years, at which time the department shall expunge the name.
- (f) Nothing in this section shall be construed as restricting the ability of a department to refuse to disclose identifying information concerning the individual initiating a report or complaint alleging suspected instances of child abuse or neglect, except that the department may not refuse such a disclosure in cases in which a court orders such disclosure after the court has reviewed, in camera, the record of the department related to the report or complaint and has determined that it has reason to believe that the person making the report knowingly made a false report.
- (g) Any person receiving reports or records of child abuse or neglect or related information under this section shall maintain the confidentiality of the documents and information and not disclose it except as authorized by law.
- (h) Any violation of the provision of confidentiality shall be a Class A misdemeanor.

Section 26-14-9 - Immunity from liability for actions under chapter

Any person, firm, corporation, or official, including members of a multidisciplinary child protection team, quality assurance team, child death review team, or other authorized case review team or panel, by whatever designation, participating in the making of a good faith report in an investigation or case review authorized under this chapter or other law or department practice or in the removal of a child pursuant to this chapter, or participating in a judicial proceeding resulting therefrom, shall, in so doing, be immune from any liability, civil or criminal, that might otherwise be incurred or imposed.

Section 26-14-10 - Doctrine of privileged communications not grounds for exclusion of evidence as to child's injuries

The doctrine of privileged communication, with the exception of the attorney-client privilege, shall not be a ground for excluding any evidence regarding a child's injuries or the cause thereof in any judicial proceeding resulting from a report pursuant to this chapter.

Section 26-14-11 - Appointment of attorney to represent child

In every case involving an abused or neglected child which results in a judicial proceeding, an attorney shall be appointed to represent the child in such proceedings. Such attorney will represent the rights, interests, welfare, and well-being of the child, and serve as guardian ad litem for the child.

Section 26-14-12 - Establishment of regulations by Department of Human Resources

The State Department of Human Resources may establish such regulations as may be necessary to implement this chapter and to encourage cooperation with other states in exchanging reports to effect a national registration system.

#### **SECTION 26-14-13 - PENALTY FOR FAILURE TO MAKE REQUIRED REPORT**

Any person who shall knowingly fail to make the report required by this chapter shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be punished by a sentence of not more than six months' imprisonment or a fine of not more than \$500.00.

#### INDIVIDUALS WITH DISABILITIES EDUCATION ACT TERMINOLOGY

A child with a disability is defined in IDEA as a child with at least one of thirteen specifically defined physical, emotional, learning, or cognitive disabilities and who, by reason of the condition, needs "special education" and "related services." At the discretion of the state, the definition may also include children ages three through nine or any subset of that age range, which are experiencing developmental delays. Special Education is specially designed instruction to meet the unique needs of a child with a disability. A child with a disability is entitled to FAPE, a free appropriate public education. That public education should be provided in the LRE, the least restrictive environment. The term FAPE is defined in pre-k through secondary school special education as related services that are provided at public expense, without charge to the parent, under public supervision and direction; meeting the state's educational standards; and addressing special education and related services the individualized educational needs of the student. IDEA's least restrictive environment directive requires the inclusion of children with disabilities, in the general education program to the maximum extent appropriate. An LEA, local education agency, is responsible for the identification and evaluation of children with disabilities and for the provision of FAPE to children found to be eligible for special education and related services.

#### BENEFITS OF FIRST CLASS PRE-K FOR CHILDREN WITH DISABILITIES

Rigorous educational research consistently shows that at-risk children who attend high-quality pre-k programs demonstrate gains in early learning skills and throughout their K-12 years. Significantly, research also shows that children with disabilities who attend pre-K in inclusive environments demonstrate gains in social skills, self-regulation, language development, and cognition. Moreover, integrating children with disabilities into typical pre-K programs does not simply improve the educational experience for the children with disabilities – pre-K classrooms that utilize inclusive materials and curricula, along with appropriate supports and services, provide social and educational benefits to the general pre-K population as well.

# ELIGIBILITY OF CHILDREN RECEIVING SPECIAL EDUCATION SERVICES IN A FIRST CLASS PRE-K PROGRAM

A child who meets the eligibility requirements for the Alabama First Class Pre-K program and is also eligible for special education and/or related services under the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) will not be denied access to the random selection process in the Alabama First Class Pre-K program. Therefore, dual enrollment in special education and the Alabama First Class Pre-K program is permitted. Children should receive services and supports in accordance with their IEP. First Class teachers should seek to be on classroom children's IEP committees and obtain copies of the children's IEP in order to incorporate suggestions into class instruction. If a pre-K provider suspects that a child has a disability or significant developmental delay, they are responsible for talking to the parent regarding referring that child to the appropriate local education agency (LEA) so that the child may be tested for eligibility to receive special education services. For contact information to local special education coordinators contact the Alabama State Department of Education at 334-242-9700 or alsde.edu.

# **Appendix P: Required Equipment, Materials, and Supplies**

<b>~</b>	Appendix P: Required Equipment, Materials, and Supplies  Materials are to be included in all classrooms the first year of operation and replaced in existing classrooms on an as-needed basis. All furnishings and equipment in a First Class Pre-K program should be age appropriate for 3-5-year-old children and should not be made of easily breakable materials.	Notes
2.3d	Art Area: Three to five of each of the following.	
	Drawing-crayons (fat and small), markers, colored pencils, sidewalk chat, white and color drawing chalk.	
	Paints - variety of paints (tempera, finger, watercolor, glitter), dot art painters, paint brushes, sponges, sponge brushes, paint cups Art aprons	
	Paper - variety of sizes, weight, texture & colors	
	3D - play dough/clay, clay cutter and other clay equipment, Styrofoam, cardboard tubes, boxes, bottles, craft sticks, wood pieces, Styrofoam, cardboard tubes, boxes, bottles	
	Collage - sequins and spangles, paper shapes, yarn, string, ribbon, lace, felt, paper scraps, fabric scraps, wallpaper samples, wiggle eyes, chenille pipe cleaners, glitter, pom-poms, ribbon, lace fabric scraps, wallpaper samples	
	Tools - stencils, glue, scissors, hole punchers, tape (masking, clear, and colored), stapler and staples	
	Furniture - table and chairs, double easel, drying rack	
	Books related to area and Writing tools	
	Some items may be teacher made, collected, or parent donated.	
	Furniture - minimum of one shelf for materials	
2.3e	Fine Motor and Manipulatives: Three to five of each of the following.	
	Gears, magna-tiles, tweezer activities, tinker toys, connecting tubes, interlocking manipulatives, beads and strings, lacing cards, magnetic blocks, links	
	Puzzles (with many different subjects and number of pieces), floor puzzles, knob less and knobbed puzzles, Puzzle rack	
	Legos, bristle blocks, building logs	
	Small wood tabletop blocks	
	Books related to area and writing tools	
	Furniture - minimum of one shelf with bins	x x x x
2.3f	Listening	
	CD player or some other type of listening device	
	Headphones	
	Recorded stories/books	
	Furniture-Storage for listening center	

<b>/</b>	Appendix P: Required Equipment, Materials, and Supplies-con't	Notes
2.3g	Music and Movement	
	Instruments- CD player/listening device, set of 10 children's musical instruments (hand-made or purchased)	
	Music CDs, tapes, iPod/iPad/MP3	
	Variety of music tapes/CDs for children (minimum of 10)	
	Dance props- scarves, ribbon rings, streamers	
	Books related to area and writing tools	
	Furniture – minimum of one shelf for storage	
2.3h	Blocks	
	There should be enough blocks, space, and accessories for three or more children to build a large structure independently.	
	Unit blocks (starter set)	
	Cardboard bricks/hollow blocks	
	Small vehicles (cars and trucks)	
	Multi-cultural people figures	
	Traffic signs	. x x x x x
	Career people figures	× × × × ×
	Animal figures	X X X X X
	Street rug	x x x x x
	Large rug X X X X X X X X X X X	× × × × ×
	Books related to area and writing tools	. x x x x x
	Furniture - minimum of two shelves	- x x x x x x
2.3i	Dramatic Play	
	Books: families, food, phone books, catalogs, real estate books, menus, note pads	
	Dramatic play furnishings: play kitchen, table and chairs, child-size sofa, dress up clothes storage, mirror, doll house & people	
	Play kitchen set: dishes, pots, pans, eating and cooking utensils, food containers, plastic food sets, measuring implements, bowls, placemats, and paper napkins, telephones/cell phones.	
	Home props (minimum of three): broom, mop, vacuum cleaner, ironing board/iron, stroller, shopping cart, etc.	
	Dolls: (multicultural), doll clothes, doll furniture	
	Dress up clothes: community helpers, multicultural attire, and props such as shoes, hats, purses, wallets, scarves, dresses, ties, jackets.	

<b>/</b>	Appendix P: Required Equipment, Materials, and Supplies-con't	Notes
2.3i	Dramatic Play- con't	
	Occupational props (minimum of three): toolbox/tools, workbench, safety goggles, luggage, doctor kit, cash register, computer keyboard, receipt books	
	Theme related props for transforming the Dramatic Play area into imaginative play environments such as fantasy (capes, hats, costume jewelry), seasonal (scarves, mittens, raincoats, umbrella), beauty shop, camping, pet store, doctor office, department store, restaurant, etc.	
	The Dramatic Play area can be enhanced with "found" objects such as a real mixer, iron, or hair dryer with the cord removed, keys, phones, purses, baskets, shopping bags, etc.	
	At least 3 or more types of dress up clothes, 2-3, props for at least 2 different themes available daily (menu, cash register, construction worker, etc.), 3 or more Home props (not counting dishes, pots and pans, plastic food). There should be a variety of "themes" available to be rotated and cultural diversity must be represented. Some items may be teacher made, collected, or parent donated.	
	Books related to area and writing tools	
2.3j	Sensory and Discovery Tables and Bins	
	Plastic tubs or tables with covers	
	Include san, water, fake snow, ice, soil, colored water, plastic chips, paper shreds, seasonal/holiday objects	
	Cups, funnels, shovels, scoops, containers, magnifiers are available	
	Some classrooms combine the Sensory and Discovery area with the Science areas due to space limitations.	
2.3k	2.3k Writing	
	Books related to writing	
	Writing materials - variety of paper, clipboards, magna doodle, journaling/notebook pads, dry erase boards	
	Materials - catalogs, office forms, "junk" mail, telephones, message pads, guest checks, receipt books, order forms, envelopes	
	Writing Tools - pencils, pens, markers, crayons, chalk, erasers, pencil sharpener, dry erase markers/crayons, old computer keyboards, children's name cards, word/picture cards, letter stencils, letter stamps	
	Furniture - writing center or table/chairs, Minimum of one shelf for materials	
	Some items may be teacher made, collected, or parent donated.	
2.31	Reading/Library	
	A minimum of 36 books in the classroom library and/or other learning areas, representing the following genres/categories: concept books (ABC, number, shapes, rhymes, alliteration), picture books, wordless picture books, people, predictable books, animals, fantasy, realistic fiction, multicultural, fairy tales, Caldecott winners, pattern books, biography, nature/science, poetry/nursery rhymes, abilities, classics, and theme-related books.	
	Class-made books should be created and displayed on a regular basis.	

<b>/</b>	Appendix P: Required Equipment, Materials, and Supplies-con't	Notes	
2.3l	Reading/Library- con't		
	Additional language materials/props: puppets, felt/flannel board story characters and stuffed animals to enhance storytelling experiences.  Library area furnishings: pillows, child-size rocker, child-size sofa and chair or beanbag chairs Rug  Alphabet, beginning sounds and rhyming word Puzzles, 3-D letters, letter templates, felt/flannel board, felt board story pieces, Puppets, stuffed animals  Furniture - One face-out shelf for books  One additional shelf (with baskets or bins) to Organize books  Some items may be teacher made, collected, or parent donated		
	Library area furnishings: pillows, child-size rocker, child-size sofa and chair or beanbag chairs, rug		
	Alphabet, beginning sounds and rhyming word Puzzles, 3-D letters, letter templates, felt/flannel board, felt board story pieces, Puppets, stuffed animals		
	Furniture - One face-out shelf for books, one additional shelf (with baskets or bins) to Organize books		
	Writing tools		
	Some items may be teacher made, collected, or parent donated		
2.3m	Sience/Nature		
	At least 3-5 examples of collections of natural objects, at least 1 living object, 3-5 examples of books and/or games, 3-5 examples of science tools for activities.		
	Include examples of life science/nature, physical science, and earth science: at least one living item such as a plant, fish, hermit crab, etc.		
	Include collections of natural objects: seeds, rocks, seashells, leaves, acorns		
	Required tools: magnifiers, measuring devices, balance scales, linear measuring devices, pipettes, magnets, tubs for sink/float, plastic trays for sorting, thermometers, flashlight, prisms (plastic), unbreakable mirrors, binoculars, maps and globes, color paddles, various types of scales, measuring cups and spoons, linear measuring devices, stopwatch, hourglass, magnifiersgraphing charts, pencils, and paper for recording data		
	Games and toys: books (realistic pictures appropriate for pre-k), Science matching cards/sequence, cards, games (realistic and fact based), realistic animals, realistic puzzles		
	View farm, live plants, aquarium		
	Balls and ramps		
	Feely Box		
	Furniture - minimum of one shelf		
2.3n	Math		
	Math area has 3-5 items in each of the following categories.		
	Counting/Numbers: counting animals/blocks, bingo games and chips, dominoes, counting games, magnetic numerals, unfix cubes, number/numeral puzzles, clocks, math themed books, number books, number peg puzzles, tangrams, counting bears/animals etc.		

<b>/</b>	Appendix P: Required Equipment, Materials, and Supplies-con't	Notes
2.3n	Math- con't	
	Geometry: pattern card blocks, shape puzzles, lacing shapes, geo-boards, parquetry blocks, magnetic shapes, etc.	
	Patterns: pattern cards and blocks, unifix cubes, beads and strings, attribute blocks, tangrams, etc.	
	Measuring: unifix cubes, chain links, wooden cubes, one inch tiles, digital clocks, balance scale, tape measure or ruler, yardsticks, thermometers, measuring cups, etc.	
	Data and Graphing: sorting trays and items to sort, measuring devices, variety of laminated graphs, "hula hoops" for Venn diagramming, pencils and paper for data recording, etc.	
	Furniture- minimum of one shelf	
	*Sometimes a "math" item may be present in another area such as thermometer in science, or a ruler in writing.	
2.30	Outdoor Play/Gross Motor	
	An age-appropriate, fenced-in, playground with shade	
	A minimum of 60 square feet per child (1,080 square feet total) on the playground.	
	Climbing and sliding structures that provide challenge for increasing skills	
Biles and paths to ride on and explore  Water and sand play equipment		
Art studio		
	Structures or materials for imaginative play	
Loose parts to enhance play		
Furniture - minimum of one shelf		
Natural features to experience seasons		
	Places to run, play ball, games, and balance	
	Wheel vehicles to pull or push	
	Balls	
	Walking board	
	Crawl through equipment	
	Toys for digging	
	Portable equipment would include balls, hoops, large trucks, tricycles with helmets, parachutes, and cones.	
	Stationary equipment would include developmentally appropriate climbing structures, sand/water table (if anchored), swings, etc. children should have the opportunity for gross motor both indoors and out	

<b>/</b>	Appendix P: Required Equipment, Materials, and Supplies-con't	Notes
	Rest	
	Cots (one per child)	
	Cot sheets (one per child)	
	Cot carrier	
	Technology	
	Minimum of two tablet type devices (such as iPad - must be compatible with Teaching Strategies GOLD™) Working internet connection to support technology	
	Miscellaneous Items	
	Cubbies with hooks (one per child) *It is recommended that cubbies for storage of children's possessions be located in the classroom to be convenient for supervision, each child should have a separate cubby with hook so that coats, etc. do not touch.	
	Large rug for whole group area	
	Safety Equipment	
	Electrical plug outlets	
	First aid kit (items such as gloves, scissors, tweezers, thermometer, bandages, tapes, gauze, band aids, safety pins, eye dressings, cold pack kept in freezer, current first aid instruction chart, contact information)	
	Other Suggested Materials and Additional Materials	
	Pulleys, wedges, corks, marbles, small boats, ping pong balls, nuts and bolts, watering cans, small journals for observing and recording data, clipboards, plastic trays, tactile materials, etc.	
	ADDITIONAL ITEMS THAT MAY BE PURCHASED IF ADDITIONAL FUNDS ARE AVAILABLE: Additional unit blocks, block sets, large vehicles for block play Puppet stage and additional puppets Magnetic board and a variety of magnets Additional manipulatives Additional dramatic play dress-up props Additional art materials Additional paint and play dough/clay colors Child-size sofa and chair Playhouse, farm set, garage set; play mats such as town/farm Toolbox, tools, workbench, safety glasses Additional dolls/doll accessories	
	Please Note	
	When purchasing shelving units, shelves should be low enough for teachers to easily see and monitor all children as they play in the indoor learning space. There should be a storage unit with individual cubbies for each child. When purchasing tables and chairs, the children's feet should be flat on the floor; table height should be approximately 8" above the chair seat. It is understood this will vary according to children in the classroom, and, therefore, might be a good idea to purchase a few chairs that are shorter than average for smaller children in the classroom.	

# First Class Pre-K Playground **Regulations and Recommendations**

The Alabama Department of Early Childhood Education does not monitor or maintain outdoor play environments. It is the responsibility of the program to adhere to all state and federal regulations regarding safety. The OSR has one certified Early Childhood Playground Safety Inspector per Region to provide guidance and resources for safe environments and playground quality enhancement.



# The outdoor play environment MUST:



Include equipment that is age and developmentally appropriate.



Provide opportunities and access for children with disabilities to participate in the outdoor curriculum and activities.



Be enclosed by a fence or wall at least four feet in height. The fence or wall shall be free from sharp protruding edges and have secured gates



Be arranged so that staff can supervise children by sight and sound. Staff should practice active supervision, moving around supervising and monitoring play at all times.



Not be shared with younger or older children at Not be snared we the time of play.



Provide shaded areas to provide a break from the sun or heat.



Provide a minimum of 60 square feet for each child. This shall be for all 18 children at one time.



Contain an area for children to have large motor experiences such as running, climbing, balancing, riding, or swinging.



Not contain concrete or asphalt under outdoor playground equipment, with the exception of



designed to be portable, securely anchored so Have playground equipment that is not that it cannot be tipped over by an adult or



Contain resilient/fall surfacing extending six feet beyond the limits of stationary equipment.



Be well-drained and free from tripping hazards.



Be inspected prior to play. Wooden equipment must be checked for sharp areas and splintering wood that could cause cuts or splinters. Metal pieces of equipment must be checked for rust, if rust is visible it must be removed immediately. All broken toys and equipment must be removed and replaced immediately.



# Recommendations for the outdoor play environment:



If sandboxes are present, they should allow for drainage, be covered when not in use and be cleaned of foreign material on a regular basis.



The environment should include a variety of natural and manufactured surfaces for children to explore.



Materials for activities such as dramatic play, block building, manipulative play, art and music should be present.



There should be semiprivate areas where children can play alone or with a friend. Semiprivate areas should be visible at all times.



#### **Universal Referral Form**

Help Me Grow Alabama (HMG) is a **free** information and referral line connecting parents and providers to information about child development and community resources. By completing this form, you are:

- signing up to receive **free** information from HMG on child development and community resources in your area,
- signing up to receive access to a free developmental screening tool called the Ages and Stages Questionnaire (ASQ) for each of your children—ages 5 and under,
- authorizing the exchange of information, if permission is given below, for the child(ren) listed between HMG and the provider listed on this form.

	HMG and the provider listed on this form.		
nation	Provider Name (e.g. Agency, Center, Practice, School Name):		
ıforr	Contact Person:		
Provider's Information	Address:	City:	Zip Code:
Prov	Phone: Fax:	Email:	
ion	Parent or Guardian Name(s):		
	Street:	City:	Zip Code:
	Phone: En	mail:	
	Best time to contact:   Between &   Anytime   Best form of contact:  Phone  Email  Text		
orma	Please contact me in:   English   Spanish   Other (including specific dialect):		
Family's Information	Child Name:		a Male a Female
	Date of Birth:P	remature? 🗆 Yes 🗆 No If yes, #	of weeks early:
	Concerns/Reason for Referral:		
	Existing services and/or other referrals in pro	ogress:	
	□ Ask me about my other children when you contact me.		
	By signing this form, I, the parent/legal guardian, authorize the release and use of the information above. I also give permission to Help Me Grow to maintain contact with the provider listed about the		
	developmental and resource information provided to my family, so the provider can give us further		
SUP	support.		

Signature of the parent/legal guardian Date

Email: referrals@smartstartalabama.org | Fax: 334-356-8230 www.helpmegrowalabama.org

Revised August 2019

# **Appendix S: Pre-Registration Responsibilities Timeline**

Step 1 Jan 15 <sup>th</sup> until Random Selection Drawing	<ul> <li>Director oversees community-wide recruitment and advertising of First Class Pre-K Pre-Registration (see English advertising flyer on p. 7 and Spanish version on p. 8)</li> <li>Director views pre-registrations in AlaCEED from January 15th until Random Selection Drawing Date</li> <li>Director oversees pre-screening of pre-registration applications for eligibility based on residency requirements, age requirements, etc. and changes status in AlaCEED of any student not meeting requirements to Dropped and does not include the student in the random selection drawing to be held in March</li> </ul>
Step 2 March 1 <sup>st</sup> through March 31st	• Director holds random selection drawing according to First Class Pre-K Guidelines between March 1st and 31st (specific date to be determined and advertised by individual programs)
Step 3  April 1st through April 15th	<ul> <li>Director marks drawing results in AlaCEED between April 1st and 15th.</li> <li>Student selected for available position = mark as Pending</li> <li>Student selected for position on waitlist = mark as Waitlisted with the number indicating the order in which the student was drawn</li> <li>Emails to pending and waitlist students go out from ADECE April 16-18</li> </ul>
Step 4 Beginning April 19 <sup>th</sup>	<ul> <li>Director marks parent responses in AlaCEED for all students with Pending status beginning         April 19th as parent responses are received         <ul> <li>Parent accepted available position = mark student as Enrolled</li> <li>Parent declined available position = mark student as Dropped</li> </ul> </li> <li>Director contacts parents from whom an accept/decline response has not been received to determine what the student's status should be and marks it in AlaCEED accordingly</li> </ul>
Step 5 Beginning April 19 <sup>th</sup>	<ul> <li>Director makes class assignments in AlaCEED beginning April 19th as parent responses are received</li> <li>All students marked as Enrolled must be assigned to a specific class in AlaCEED by August 1</li> </ul>

### **Appendix T: Alabama Transition to Kindergarten Toolkit**

The toolkit is located at children.alabama.gov and includes:

# INTRODUCING ALABAMA'S TRANSITION TO KINDERGARTEN TOOLKIT

SECTION 1 – Introductory Letter from Alabama State Agency Leaders SECTION 2 – Enhancing School Readiness and the Transition to Kindergarten in Alabama

# DEVELOPING A TRANSITION TO KINDERGARTEN PLAN

SECTION 3 - Transition to Kindergarten: Collaboration, Connections, and Six Steps to Success

SECTION 4 - Transition Activity Ideas by Connection

SECTION 5 – Transition to Kindergarten Planning Template

# COMMUNITY COLLABORATION AROUND THE TRANSITION TO KINDERGARTEN

SECTION 6 – Four Strategies for Getting the First 10 Years of a Child's Life Right (Education Week)

SECTION 7 – Transition to Kindergarten: Why it Matters and How to Promote Success

SECTION 8 – Family Engagement in the Transition to Kindergarten

SECTION 9 – Integrating Attendance into the Transition to Kindergarten

### Alabama Transition to Kindergarten Toolkit























#### **ESSENTIAL ALABAMA TRANSITION TO KINDERGARTEN RESOURCES**

SECTION 10 - Combining Funds to Support Prekindergarten Programs

SECTION 11 - Transition to Kindergarten for Students with Disabilities

SECTION 12 - Social-Emotional Learning, Mental Health, and the Transition to Kindergarten

SECTION 13 – Strategies to Serve All Children

SECTION 14 – A Family Child Care Resources

SECTION 15 - Sample Transition to Kindergarten Child Information Form



# Help Your Child Succeed in Preschool and Kindergarten **Build the Habit of Good Attendance**

#### **DID YOU KNOW...**

Showing up on time every day is important to your child's success and learning from preschool forward.

Missing 10% of school (1 or 2 days every few weeks) can make it harder to:

- Gain early reading and math skills.
- Build relationships.
- Develop good attendance habits.

High quality preschool and kindergarten has many benefits!

- The routines your child develops will continue throughout school.
- Make the most of early grades by encouraging your child to attend every day.

#### WHAT YOU CAN DO

Work with your child and his/her teacher to develop your child's strong attendance.

Talk about it – sing about it – make it an adventure!

- Set a regular bedtime and morning routine.
- Lay out clothes and pack backpacks the night before.
- Share ideas with other parents for getting to school on time.

#### Before the school year starts

- Find out what day school starts and begin a countdown!
- Make sure your child has the required shots.
- Attend orientation with your child to meet teachers and classmates and find out about health and safety procedures.

#### Ready, Set, GO!

- If you are concerned your child may have a contagious illness, call your school or health care provider for advice. Ask for resources to continue learning at home if needed.
- Ask family members or neighbors for assistance if you need help.
- Try to schedule non-urgent medical appointments and extended trips when school is not in session.
- If your child seems anxious about going to preschool, talk to the program director, teacher, your doctor or other parents for advice. Make sure the program is a good fit for your child.





Revised April 2024

Visit Attendance Works at www.attendanceworks.org for free downloadable resources and tools!



# Goals for First Teacher:

- Improve family health outcomes
- Improve family economic selfsufficiency
- Increase access to community resources and support
- Prevent child abuse and neglect
- Reduce domestic violence



Through monthly visits, trained home visitors promote positive health and social outcomes by providing education, screening families' health, assessing their social support needs, and assisting families in accessing services in their local area.

# **Facts about Home Visiting:**

- Families and children can receive services prenatally through Kindergarten entry.
- Home visits are FREE. No insurance required or billed.
- No income requirements.
- Programs in all 67 counties in Alabama.





# Call for more information

parents teachers

Iani Iohnson HIPPY State Lead First Teacher Home Visiting Technical Assistant (334) 832-8139 Jani.Johnson@ece.alabama.gov

Kesha Whitehead, M.Ed. ECMH-E First Teacher Home Visiting State Lead Administrator PAT State Lead (334) 832-8171 Kesha.Whitehead@ece.alabama.gov

Visit our website: www.children.alabama.gov

Adrienne Jackson, MS IMH-E First Teacher Home Visiting Technical Assistant (334) 451-6696 Adrienne.Jackson@ece.alabama.gov

Nurse-Family Partnership



### **Appendix W: Works cited**

*Alabama School Readiness Alliance*. (n.d.). Retrieved from Alabama School Readiness Alliance: https://www.alabamaschoolreadiness.org/why-pre-k-works/

Alabama Standards for Early Learning and Development. Montgomery, AL. 2023.

Alabama Transition to Kindergarten Toolkit, Montgomery, AL 2021.

(2017, April 24). Alabama's Voluntary Pre-K Kindergarten Program Continues to Lead the Nation in Quality for th Tenth Year in a Row. Retrieved from Alabama Department of Early Childhood Education: https://children.alabama.gov/1633/perfect-10-for-quality-10-years-in-arow/

Burts, D., EdD, Berke, K. L., MHD, Heroman, C., MEd, Baker, H., MLS, Bickart, T., MSW, Tabors, P., EdD, & Sanders, S., EdD (2016). *Objectives for Development & Learning Birth through third grade*. Teaching Strategies®, LLC.

Center for Resilient Children (2024, July 4). https://centerforresilientchildren.org/

Cairone, K.B. & M. Mackrain. *Promoting Resilience in Preschoolers: A Strategy Guide for Early Childhood Professionals.* 2<sup>nd</sup> ed. Lewisville, NC: Kaplan Early Learning Company.

Copple, C., Bredekamp, S., Koralek, D., & Charner, K. (Eds.). (2013). *Developmentally appropriate practice*. National Association for the Education of Young Children.

Dodge, D. T., Heroman, C., Colker, EdD, L. J., Bickart, T. S., Berke, K. L., & Baker, H. (2016). *The Creative Curriculum for Preschool: The Foundation* (6th ed.). Teaching Strategies<sup>®</sup>.

Dodge, D. T., Heroman, C., Colker, EdD, L. J., Berke, K. L., & Baker, H. (2016). *The Creative Curriculum for Preschool: Interest Areas Volume 2* (6th ed.). Teaching Strategies<sup>®</sup>.

Thelma Harms, R. M. (2004). *Early Childhood Environment Rating Scale (ECERS-R)* (Revised Edition). Teachers College Press.

Hattie, J. (2017). Hattie Ranking: 252 Influences and Effect Sizes Related To Student Achievement.

Hattie, J. (2015). What Works Best in Education: The Politics of Collaborative Expertise. London, UK: Pearson

Pianta, Robert C., Karen M. LaParo, Bridget K. Hamre. *Classroom Assessment Scoring System*. Baltimore, MD: Paul H. Brooks Publishing Company.

Policy statement on expulsion and suspension policies in early childhood settings. (2014). U.S. Department of Education/U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Retrieved from https://www2.ed.gov/policy/gen/guid/ school-discipline/policy-statement-ece-expulsions-suspensions.pd